It’s all about the honey honey honey

Charmed and thrilled to find this source of local honey, both for my palate and to ease any hay fever symptoms.  It all goes to show that local is best! Robert sells his honey at the door (close to Manea station, park with caution) and I found him buzzing (sorry) around in his workshop whilst a few stray bees kept him company from the garden.Honey for sale near Manea station sign crop
He showed me some of last years ‘rapeseed’ honey and noted that my purchased jar (it’s cheaper if you take the jar back, very sustainable) perhaps contained garden wildflower nectar in addition to that from the local fields.  It tastes just lovely and gave me a good excuse to pop into a B&B in Welney (www.schoolhousebandbwelney.co.uk) to introduce myself and talk local produce and the all important breakfast offer… mmm

Though Welney WWT reserve does sell excellent Norfolk honey so perhaps this is a county divide issue? I would love to see Ouse Washes branded honey in the future – what do you reckon?

Just the honey jar crop

