Hello from Abby!

LogosHaving been in post for a whole 3 days now a “Hello” from me is now long overdue! I am thrilled to be working as Countryside Engagement Officer for the Ouse Washes as part of this lottery funded landscape initiative and will be blogging regularly from now on – do feel free to get in touch with positive (and negative!) thoughts and opinions on my blog…

My most relevant work experience relates to my time as Community and Biodiversity Project Officer in the Brecks Natural Area where I was based in Thetford, Norfolk where I still live with my family (two teenage girls of great skill and wonder), husband (see before) and changing array of time consuming pets!  The Brecks echoes the Ouse Washes in its lack of national landscape designation (both a blessing and a curse depending on your role in this living breathing landscape) which can mean that it’s diversity and appeal can go underappreciated.  In the Brecks we had pine – lines whilst the Washes is all about the water, I hope you like the logo as much as I do?

I have lived and worked in London, Hull, Dorset, Hertfordshire, the Isles of Scilly (30 miles off Cornwall and never referred to as the Scilly Isles BTW), Greece and India so am used to “not being from around here” though I am keen to learn more about the area and to understand the needs, interests and any sore points as much as possible.

Within the team my main responsibilities revolve around communications, events and the media with the fantastic ‘washes wide’ Festival Fortnight in preparation for July/ August 2015.  Look out for Mark and myself at local events and do get in touch if you have got the creative bug (and want to donate some of your precious time?) or have any ideas about how we can best communicate about upcoming events (online? newspaper? posters? loudhailers?), input always welcome…that’s all for now but here is a photo of me to aid my identification!ASV intro photo

2 thoughts on “Hello from Abby!

  1. Hi Abby

    Welcome to the Ouse Washes – very much hope your job goes well.

    If you ever need any images of the Ouse Washes – people working, recreation, communities etc, please let me know. Cambridgeshire Acre does have a collection of mine but they are a couple of years old now.

    All the best

    Pete

    • Hi Pete and thanks for getting in touch! I did reply on the 15th but then lost the message so apologies for the time delay (lots to get to grips with at the moment…). We need to have a proper sort of our Ouse Washes photo collection and, when this is done, we may well contact you to fill in any gaps! best wishes and thanks for the ‘Hello’, abby : )

Comments are closed.